Money For Nothing

Are you frugal?

Le Me – “Oh God! They just informed me that I won’t have my bonus next month, instead the month after that. Damn, I was thinking of taking a vacation this time. It’s been 4 years since I last sat in a forest.”

Le God – “But you could take that vacation when you have that bonus, why are you so disappointed?”

“It was only today that I had decided that I’ll have that vacation instead of paying my debt off. I was looking for places the entire day and had nearly finalized¬†one.”

“Well why can’t you have that vacation any way? Just go for it, why wait for money? Don’t you save enough?”

“No I don’t. My relationship with money is love-hate type. We don’t match. Ever since childhood, I would rather spend my money than keep it safe, in a piggy bank. In that way, I’m rather frivolous.”

“Why do you think does that happen? Why can’t you save it?”

“I’ve never thought of that frankly. It’s just that my enjoyment and fulfilment have often been my primary target. I believe that being depraved of pleasure is my primary aching point. Nothing comes atop my pleasure. Being thrifty is just not my property. I remember stealing money from my father’s pocket to buy a watch and a compass box. I also used my excess pocket money almost immediately and got into bad habits.”

“He he… Glad you have the heart to admit. Still, how do you derive pleasure from owning things?”

“I don’t know. I’ll tell you another trait of mine. All the things I own are only pleasurable at first and like a child I always get bored of them. If I ever tell you that I want to find my childishness, remind me of that please!”

“Sure. So, you’re not really close to any answer, are you?”

“What was the question?”

“Why can’t you save money?”

“Let me think about it. In the meanwhile, why don’t you tell me, if you know of others who spend like I do.”

“I am your consciousness. I can’t know anything that you don’t know. So, do you know of people who spend like you do?”

“Nope!”

“Think of a time when you spent a lot of money on a simple whim. And then think what triggered that spree and may be you can point to the specific pain point of yours.”

“Hmm. I was struggling with my invisible girlfriend when I got my speakers, I was struggling with a job change when I bought my bike. Hey, in fact, whenever I’ve changed my job, I’ve spent a lot. And then, all the time after that I keep struggling for money. You know I think I understand where you’re actually coming from. It’s my anxiety that triggers my silly shopping spree’s. Whenever I’m anxious, that is like all the time, I spend. And that’s why all my bad habits. Oh man! You’re too damn terrific. How did you do that?”

“Well you did that. You’re not only anxiety stricken, you have a screwed up memory as well. I just told you, that I’m your consciousness. I never figure out the answers, you do, you have all the answers, you just take time figuring them out.”

“Hmmm… A Peek Within, isn’t it?”

“Bingo!”

Leave a Reply

